Katelyn Holub

blogging about music, art, and creativity

My DIY Musician Goals for 2014

4 Comments

Alright, it’s that time of year when everybody sets goals for what they’ll accomplish in the next year.  I’ve never really been one for making tons of goals for the new year, but from time to time I think it’s important to strategize a few realistic objectives.

Because singer-songwriters/DIY musicians wear many hats—composer, sound producer, performer, marketer—setting goals can easily become overwhelming.  To combat this, I’m breaking up my several goals into smaller chunks of do-able tasks.  Lastly, I’m briefly noting next to each of my goals why I’m doing it to help remind myself when more time passes before I get around to completing it the reason I wanted to do it in the first place—I tend to forget things easily if I don’t write them down!

Goals for 2014

So here are my musical goals, in all their glory:

1.  Find solution to my recording issues so that I can make more sound recordings to boost content available to fans.

2.  Upload a YouTube video every two months—at the very least—because consistency is important in engaging and growing a fan base/following and YouTube has become one of the most popular online tools for music discovery.

3.  Perform live shows at least every two months because the more practice you get at performing live, the better musician you become and the faster you can grow your following.   This has become harder for me to do as I progress through grad school and have less free time, but I’m going to make it more of a priority.

4.  Oh, and keep composing more songs!

What goals are you making for the new year?  How do you make sure you actually accomplish them?

Author: katelynholub

I'm a law school graduate, singer-songwriter, believer, blogger, and general adventurer.

4 thoughts on “My DIY Musician Goals for 2014

  1. I think you’re going to do great! Just hang in there and I’m sure you’ll accomplish your goals. Remember that even if you perform in front of a group of friends, that still counts as a performance and also sharpens your entertainer chops.
    Soundcloud is where its at if you want to maintain rights to the work your produce. Covers and videos are cool, but remember youtube can sell your content. Soundcloud gives you the option to protect your work with creative commons licensing. Good Luck!

    • Thanks for the thoughtful response, Xareni! You brought up a good point about performing for friends–I often overlook that, but playing for friends definitely provides a low-stakes way to gain more confidence in performing.

      I would like to look into Soundcloud more this upcoming year because it seems like a great platform to get your music out there for free and allow people to share it easily through links.

      And I just wanted to clarify your comment about Youtube being able to sell your content. (I assume you mean it can sell your content to third parties). I read the Youtube Terms of Service, and 6(c) states, in part, “For clarity, you retain all of your ownership rights in your Content. However, by submitting Content to YouTube, you hereby grant YouTube a worldwide, non-exclusive, royalty-free, sublicenseable and transferable license to use, reproduce, distribute, prepare derivative works of, display, and perform the Content in connection with the Service and YouTube’s (and its successors’ and affiliates’) business, including without limitation for promoting and redistributing part or all of the Service (and derivative works thereof) in any media formats and through any media channels. You also hereby grant each user of the Service a non-exclusive license to access your Content through the Service, and to use, reproduce, distribute, display and perform such Content as permitted through the functionality of the Service and under these Terms of Service.” (emphasis added). –> So this doesn’t mean Youtube can sell your content to third parties, it just means Youtube can use your content in connection with its business (like for promoting Youtube on another websites). Even if Youtube uses your content to promote itself without paying you for being able to do so, you will probably benefit financially by gaining exposure to a wider audience that can buy your content/music. Don’t be afraid to upload original songs to Youtube because you still maintain the intellectual property rights to your original content!

  2. Hi! I just spent the past 20 minutes trying to find you on my Blogs I Follow list and I am so glad to read your plans you’ve written. I enjoy your music and think that listening to you grow as an artist will be terrific. I can’t say I’ll always say something good, but I will always listen to what you’re trying to accomplish and tell you how it seems to me. Hope that will help you. Not many artists are as open and sincere as you in reaching their audience and admitting their dreams, shortcomings, and long-term goals. I wish you the best and will always look forward to your posts and content. You’re stuff is on my iTune library, ya know, so you’re official now…

Whatcha say?

